## RESOLUTION NO 19-23 A RESOLUTION OF THE MICHIANA AREA COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS ENDORSING THE SOUTH BEND AND ELKHART/GOSHEN TRANSPORTATION MANAGEMENT AREA FISCAL YEAR 2024 – 2028 TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

- WHEREAS, the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) also known as the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) designates joint Federal Highway Administration/Federal Transit Administration rules and regulations, under Section 134, Title 23 of the US Code, the act requires the preparation of a Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) by the designated Metropolitan Planning Organization(s) as a part of the transportation planning process in urbanized areas of 50,000 or more population; and
- WHEREAS, the Michiana Area Council of Governments (MACOG), being the duly designated Metropolitan Planning Organization for the South Bend and Elkhart/Goshen Urbanized Area, in cooperation with local governmental entities and implementing agencies within the urbanized area, has prepared a Fiscal Year (FY) 2024-2028 TIP which consists of improvements recommended in the MACOG Michiana on the Move: 2045 Transportation Plan (TP), and has also prepared a Congestion Management System (CMS) document which lists all CMS strategies in the South Bend and Elkhart/Goshen Urbanized Area; and
- WHEREAS, MACOG has deemed respective improvements programmed in the FY 2024-2028 TIP to be consistent with and in promotion of implementation of the South Bend and Elkhart/Goshen Transportation Management Area 2045 Transportation Plan and for the State Implementation Plan for air quality,
- BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that the South Bend and Elkhart/Goshen Transportation Management Area FY 2024-2028 TIP is hereby endorsed.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Resolution has been adopted on this 10th day of May, 2023.

Michiana Area Council of Governments

Mark Senter, Policy Board Chair



U.S. Department of Transportation

Federal Transit Administration Federal Highway Administration Region V 200 West Adams St., Suite 320 Chicago, IL 60606-5253

Indiana Division 575 N. Pennsylvania St., Rm 254 Indianapolis, IN 46204-1576

June 30, 2023

Roy Nunnally, Director Technical Planning & Programming Division Indiana Department of Transportation 100 N Senate Ave. N925 Indianapolis, IN 46204

Dear Mr. Nunnally:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) have completed our review of the documents necessary to make an air quality conformity finding for the Michiana Area Council of Government's (MACOG) planning documents. The South Bend-Elkhart Planning Area is within the MACOG air quality conformity area comprised of St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties. The need for this new conformity finding stems from the adoption of the FY2024-2028 MACOG Transportation Improvement Program, and a recent amendment to the MACOG 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP).

St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties are designated as Maintenance for the 1997 Ozone Standard until July 19, 2027.

Appropriate consultation and public involvement on the FY24-28 TIP and MTP amendment was completed. The Indiana Department of Environmental Management, the Indiana Department of Transportation, and the US Environmental Protection Agency have completed their reviews and have determined that air quality conformity requirements have been met.

This conformity determination letter supersedes all previous conformity determination letters for this MPO. Conformity determination letters issued for amended MTPs (i.e., MTPs that have not been updated in accordance with the requirements outlined in 23 CFR 450.324) do not restart the conformity clock for those documents. Therefore, FHWA and FTA affirms the following planning documents conform to air quality conformity rule requirements:

MACOG 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (including Amendment dated May 10, 2023)

MACOG 2022-2026 TIP (including Amendment dated June 12, 2023) MACOG 2024-2028 TIP (Original)

Please note that the 2024-2028 TIP is not incorporated into INDOT's current Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), therefore, the 2022-2026 TIP is the only TIP officially recognized by FHWA and FTA.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Erica Tait, FHWA, at 317-226-7481 or erica.tait@dot.gov; or Cecilia C. Godfrey, FTA, at 312-705-1268 or cecilia.crenshaw@dot.gov.

Sincerely,

**KELLEY** 

Digitally signed by KELLEY BROOKINS BROOKINS Date: 2023.06.28 14:02:53 -05'00'

Kelley Brookins Regional Administrator FTA Region V

cc: (transmitted by e-mail) James Turnwald, MACOG Jay Mitchell, INDOT Cecilia Crenshaw-Godfrey, FTA Tony Maietta, EPA Shawn Seals, IDEM

Sincerely,

Jermaine R. Hannon Division Administrator FHWA Indiana Division



## INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

100 North Senate Avenue Room N758-Executive Office Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 PHONE: (855) 463-6848

Eric Holcomb, Governor Michael Smith, Commissioner

July 18, 2023

Mr. James Turnwald, Executive Director Michiana Area Council of Governments 277 W. Jefferson Blvd. South Bend, IN 46601

## Fiscal Year 2024 – 2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Approval

Dear Mr. Turnwald:

The Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) has completed its review of the FY 2024-2028 Transportation Improvement Program for the Michiana Area Council of Governments (MACOG). State and locally initiated transportation projects were reviewed for accuracy and compliance under The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), Public Law 117-58.

It is my pleasure to inform you that on behalf of Governor Eric Holcomb, I approve your FY 2024-2028 Transportation Improvement Program. This document will serve as support for the local and INDOT projects in your area that fall within the FY 2024-2028 timeline and will be included directly into the FY 2024-2028 Indiana Statewide Improvement Program (STIP). However, projects not shown by reference will be amended into the STIP upon request.

If you should have any questions, please feel free to contact Roy Nunnally at 317-234-1692.

Sincerely,

Michael Smith, Commissioner

Indiana Department of Transportation

cc: Lyndsay Quist

Louis Feagans

Matthew Deitchley

Sarah Ford

Roy Nunnally

Erica Tait

File

